About IAAT

Ireland’s Association for Adventure Tourism (IAAT) is the independent representative association for the adventure tourism sector on the island of Ireland. This sector is one of the fastest growing and most exciting within Irish tourism and the IAAT aims to work with adventure tourism operators to develop the sector in a sustainable and responsible manner.

Today the association boasts over 300 members across the entire island of Ireland, with the members offering a rich array of adventure activities. 

IAAT’s primary work includes finding solutions to the insurance crisis, supporting the development of quality standards in all aspects of activities, providing a range of supports to members including free training, and lobbying Government and the relevant authorities as required. The association also provides the sector with regular networking opportunities to meet, share challenges & opportunities, and indeed work closely as a community to ensure that Ireland is ultimately recognised as a world leader in adventure tourism. 

The IAAT vision is for Ireland to be recognised as a world leader in adventure tourism. 

Board of Directors (updated January 2022)

Shane Young, Killary Tours/Adventure Centre (Galway) – Chairman 

Colin Wolfe, Connemara Wild Escapes (Galway) – Treasurer 

Eimear Flanagan, Away a Wee Walk (Belfast) – Secretary

Carina Conyngham, Rock Farm Slane (Meath)

Derek Binchy, Fota Island Adventure Centre (Cork)

Hugh Flood, Lazy Bikes (Dublin)

Iain Miller, Unique Ascent (Donegal)

Lorcan McBride, Far & Wild (Derry)

Maria Kennedy, Atlantic Sea Kayaking (Cork)

Maurice Whelan, Ireland Hike Bike (Kerry)

Rob Rankin, Vagabond Tours (Wicklow)Brendan Kenny – Chief Executive brendan.kenny@iaat.ie

Comments are closed